REV. EDWIN D. LEAHY, O.S.B. PRESIDENT

ADRIANNE DAVIS VICE PRESIDENT

MEMBERS

SALVATORE CARNOVALE JENNIFER M. CARRILLO-PEREZ LEESANDRA MEDINA DR. CHRIS T. PERNELL DR. JAMES M. PEDERSEN SUPERINTENDENT

DICXIANA A. CARBONELL, Ed.S. ASSISTANT SUPERINTENDENT OF SCHOOLS FOR CURRICULUM & INSTRUCTION

BERNETTA DAVIS BUSINESS ADMINISTRATOR

LORI TANNER BOARD SECRETARY

M. MURPHY DURKIN, ESQ BOARD ATTORNEY

Annual Asbestos Management Plan Activity Update for School Year 2021-2022

The purpose of this memorandum is to inform you of the Essex County Schools of Technology Board of Education's recent and planned asbestos management activities, pursuant to the periodic notification requirement of the United States Environmental Protection Agency's "Asbestos-Containing Material in Schools Rule" (40 CFR 763, Subpart E, commonly referred to as the AHERA regulation).

In accordance with the Rule, the Board instituted Asbestos Management Plans where applicable to address Asbestos-Containing Building Material (ACBM).

The Board continues to maintain other ACBM identified under an operations and maintenance program.

The last Three Year Reinspection required by the Rule was completed in March 2020. Documentation of this Reinspection has been incorporated into the Board's Management Plan documentation. Periodic surveillance and other consulting activities will be performed in 2021-2022 by Rullo & Juillet Associates, Inc., a qualified asbestos management consultant retained by the Board for assistance in these matters.

The Asbestos Management Plan for each of the Board's facilities that contain asbestos is available at the facility's main office, as well as the Board Office at 60 Nelson Place, 1 North, Newark, NJ 07102 during normal business hours. Questions should be directed to Bernetta Davis, Business Administrator at (973) 412-2078.